Alcoholic fermentation

VINIFICATION   


Effected by the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae

Oenococus oeniAlcoholic fermentation, which lasts 4-8 days, is effected by the yeast species Saccharomyces cerevisiae.

To multiply, Saccharomyces cerevisiae consumes the nutrients in the must and its metabolic activity is expressed in two essential phenomena: the conversion of sugars in the must into alcohol (ethanol) and the production of volatile compounds responsible for the aromas of the new eau-de-vie.


Conversion of sugars in the must into alcohol

In practice, the winemaker monitors the progression of alcoholFermentation alcoolique par mesure quotidienne de la température et de la densitéic fermentation, measuring must weight daily with a “mustimetre”: the density decreases as the sugars are converted into alcohol.

This reaction generates energy (an exergonic reaction).

Some of the energy produced is used by the yeast to continue to multiply (the yeast population reaches 100 million cells per ml [3 billion cells per ounce] during alcoholic fermentation), but most of this energy is released in the form of heat, which explains the rise in temperature during alcoholic fermentation.

Above 30°C (86°F), the temperature may inhibit yeast growth, which is why winemakers must monitor the fermenting wine’s temperature daily.

Production of volatile compounds generating the aromas of the new eau-de-vie

Parallel to the conversion of sugars into alcohol, the yeast produces a wide variety of volatile compounds that will be concentrated during distillation. These will generate the new eau-de-vie’s aromas.

The primary volatile compounds synthesised by the yeast are aldehydes, higher alcohols, fatty acid esters, acetate esters, or esters of higher alcohols.

composes_volatilsThe formation of most esters is sought after, for these compounds give the eaux-de-vie fruity (banana, pear…) and floral (linden flower, rose, violet…) aromas.

Other compounds produced by the yeast (higher alcohols, ethyl acetate, acetaldehyde…) contribute aromas to the eau-de-vie but can alter quality when they exceed known concentration thresholds.

Necessity of controlling the progress of fermentation

cinetique_fermentaireTo control the synthesis of all these volatile compounds, an optimum fermentation cycle must be established – in other words, a cycle that will lead to the optimum development of Saccharomyces cerevisiae. This means:

● rapid start of alcoholic fermentation to avoid the appearance of undesirable micro-organisms during the prefermentation phase (there will be no SO2 to remove them!) ;

● steady progress ;

● complete consumption of sugars by the yeast.

The winemaker’s goal is to avoid :

● significant temperature increases related to a fermentation that is
proceeding too quickly (e.g., 4 days) (see 4-day graph) ;

● fermentation that proceeds too slowly, which could lead to premature multiplication of bacteria and overlapping of alcoholic fermentation with malolactic fermentation, which must absolutely be avoided. (lactic acescence, which will be revisited in the chapter on MLF) (see 10-day graph).

Yeast addition: A winemaking practice that improves control over alcoholic fermentation

The practice of yeast addition has become increasingly widespread. This practice consists in seeding the must with a select population of Saccharomyces cerevisiae of about 1 million cells per ml (about 30 million cells per fluid ounce).

The goal is twofold :

● ensure rapid start to fermentation

● populate must with a strain with known qualities.

Indeed, it is important to know that there is great variability within the species S. cerevisiae: strains belonging to this species present physiological characteristics that can differ widely. The analytical and sensory profile of a wine is therefore dependent on the strain of Saccharomyces cerevisiae that dominated in the must during alcoholic fermentation.

The necessity of controlling the formation of volatile compounds in the wines has led researchers and oenologists to select the best-suited strains. Today, most winemakers seed the must with selected yeasts.

Strain FC9, for example, was selected in the Cognac region vineyards as a result of an extensive ecological study performed in the 1990s.

Addition of nitrogen in case of deficiency

Un ajout judicieux d'azote perment d'augmenter la vitesse de fermentationHowever, the practice of yeast addition and choice of a particular strain of yeast are not always sufficient to ensure good development of fermentation.

The nitrogen content of the must plays a prime role here, for it is a limiting factor in yeast growth.

If the must is nitrogen-deficient, fermentation will be too slow and the risk of lactic spoilage will be very high.

If the must is nitrogen-deficient, fermentation will be too slow and the risk of lactic spoilage will be very high.

These additions encourage yeast growth and therefore the speed of fermentation. Ecologically speaking, they are preferable to excessive vine fertilisation.

Current regulations allow the addition of ammonium salt to the maximum dose of 100 g/hl (1.4 oz/gal). However, few situations require such supplements. Additions in the region are often around 20 g/hl (0.3 oz/gal). Exceeding the 50 g/hl (0.7 oz/gal) total dose of supplements is discouraged, at the risk of seeing significant changes in the analytical profile of the resulting eaux-de-vie.

Other factors influence yeast metabolism: presence of must deposit, temperature…

La fermentationOther factors influence the production of volatile compounds and, consequently, the aroma profile of the new eaux-de-vie. Some of these factors include :

● greater or lesser presence of must deposit ;

● temperature (controlled temperature of about 22°C (72°F) yields more aromatic esters).

The aroma profile of the new eaux-de-vie is also closely tied to the composition of the fermenting must. This relationship is complex and explains differences in vintages. The Station Viticole is currently studying this subject.

Next : malolactic fermentation

ALSO OF INTEREST

La fermentation alcoolique

VINIFICATION   


Assurée par la levure Saccharomyces cerevisiae

Oenococus oeniLa fermentation alcoolique qui dure de 4 à 8 jours est assurée par l’espèce de levure Saccharomyces cerevisiae.

Pour se multiplier Saccharomyces cerevisiae consomme les composés nutritifs du moût et son activité métabolique se traduit par 2 phénomènes essentiels : transformation des sucres du moût en alcool (éthanol) et production de composés volatils responsables des arômes de l’eau-de-vie nouvelle.


Transformation des sucres du moût en alcool

Dans la pratique, le vinificateur suit la progression de la fermentation alcoolFermentation alcoolique par mesure quotidienne de la température et de la densitéique en mesurant quotidiennement la densité des moûts à l’aide d’un mustimètre : la densité diminue au fur et à mesure que les sucres se transforment en alcool.

Cette réaction est génératrice d’énergie (dite exergonique).

Une partie de l’énergie produite est utilisée par les levures pour leur multiplication (la population de levure atteint 100 millions de cellules par ml lors de la fermentation alcoolique), mais l’essentiel de cette énergie est libérée sous forme de chaleur, ce qui explique les élévations de température pendant la fermentation alcoolique.

Au delà de 30°C la température peut gêner le fonctionnement des levures, c’est pourquoi le vinificateur surveille quotidiennement la température du vin en fermentation.

Production de composés volatils générant les arômes de l’eau-de-vie nouvelle

Parallèlement à la transformation des sucres en alcool, la levure produit une grande variété de composés volatils qui seront concentrés lors de la distillation et génèreront des arômes de l’eau-de-vie nouvelle.

Les principaux composés volatils synthétisés par la levure sont des aldéhydes, des alcools supérieurs, des esters d’acétate, esters d’acides gras ou encore esters d’alcools supérieurs.

composes_volatilsLa formation de la plupart des esters est recherchée car ces composés confèrent des arômes fruités (banane,poire…) et floraux (tilleul, rose, violette…) aux eaux-de-vie.

D’autres composés produits par les levures (alcools supérieurs, acétate d’éthyle, éthanal…) participent à l’équilibre de l’eau-de-vie mais peuvent, au-delà de seuils de concentration connus, générer des déviations qualitatives.

Nécessité de maîtriser la progression de la fermentation

cinetique_fermentairePour maîtriser la synthèse de tous ces composés volatils, il faut en premier lieu assurer une bonne cinétique fermentaire, c’est–à-dire un bon développement de Saccharomyces cerevisiae. Cela signifie :

● un démarrage rapide de la fermentation alcoolique pour éviter l’apparition de microorganismes indésirables lors de la phase préfermentaire (pas de SO2 pour les éliminer !) ;

● une cinétique régulière ;

● une consommation complète des sucres par la levure.

L’objectif pour le vinificateur est d’éviter :

● des élévations de température trop importantes liées à des cinétiques fermentaires trop rapides (ex : 4 jours ; cf graphique).

● des cinétiques de fermentation trop lentes qui risquent de conduire à une multiplication prématurée des bactéries et à un chevauchement de la fermentation alcoolique et de la fermentation malolactique qu’il faut absolument éviter (piqûre lactique dont on reparlera dans le chapitre sur la FML) (cf graphique 10 jours).

Levurage : une pratique oenologique qui permet d’améliorer la maîtrise de la fermentation alcoolique

La pratique du levurage s’est progressivement généralisée. Cette pratique consiste à apporter dans le moût une population de Saccharomyces cerevisiae sélectionnée d’environ 1 million de cellules par ml.

Son objectif est double :

● assurer un départ rapide en fermentation (comme déjà vu)

● implanter une souche dont les qualités sont connues.

En effet, il faut savoir qu’il existe une grande variabilité au sein de l’espèce S. cerevisiae : les souches appartenant à cette espèce présentent des caractéristiques physiologiques qui peuvent être très différentes. Le profil analytique et sensoriel d’un vin est par conséquent dépendant de la souche de Saccharomyces cerevisiae qui a pris le dessus dans le moût pour assurer la fermentation alcoolique.

La nécessité de maîtriser la formation des composés volatils dans les vins a conduit les chercheurs et oenologues à sélectionner les souches les plus adaptées et, de nos jours, les vinificateurs ensemencent les moûts avec ces levures sélectionnées.

La souche FC9, par exemple, a été sélectionnée dans le vignoble charentais à l’issue d’une vaste étude écologique réalisée dans les années 90.

Ajout d’azote en cas de carence

Un ajout judicieux d'azote perment d'augmenter la vitesse de fermentationCependant, la pratique du levurage et le choix de telle ou telle souche de levure ne suffisent pas toujours à assurer un bon déroulement fermentaire.

La teneur en azote des moûts joue ici un rôle prépondérant car c’est un facteur limitant du développement des levures.

Si celles ci se trouvent en situation de carence, la fermentation va être trop lente et les risques de piqûre lactique très importants.

C’est pourquoi le vinificateur peut ajouter de l’azote dans les moûts carencés.

Ces ajouts favorisent la multiplication des levures et par conséquent la vitesse de fermentation. D’un point de vue écologique, ils sont préférables à une fertilisation excessive de la vigne.

La réglementation actuelle autorise l’ajout de sels d’ammonium à la dose maximale de 100g/hl. Cependant peu de situations nécessitent de tels apports. Les apports réalisés dans la région se situent souvent autour de 20g/hl et il est conseillé de ne pas dépasser la dose de 50g/hl d’apports totaux sous peine de voir des modifications importantes des profils analytiques des eaux-de-vie obtenues.

D’autres facteurs influencent le métabolisme des levures : présence de bourbes, température…

La fermentationD’autres facteurs influencent la production des composés volatils et, par voie de conséquence, le profil aromatique des eaux de vie nouvelles. Parmi ces facteurs on peut citer :

● la présence plus ou moins importante de bourbes ;

● la température (une température maîtrisée d’environ 22°C donne plus d’esters aromatiques).

Le profil aromatique des eaux-de-vie nouvelles est également étroitement lié à la composition des moûts mis en fermentation. Ce lien est complexe et explique les effets « millésime » ; la Station Viticole  du BNIC étudie actuellement ce sujet.

À suivre : la fermentation malolactique

À voir aussi